11-Jan-2018   |     |   0

Understanding the Barracuda Backup Service Data Plan

This article refers to the Barracuda Backup Legacy Release firmware or newer.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding your Barracuda Backup Service plan, contact Barracuda Networks Technical Support.

Barracuda Backup Service data plans are billed based on the total amount of data currently backed up offsite at the compressed and deduplicated rate. When the storage limit is reached, the plan is automatically increased to meet the data requirements and billed at the new level. A notification is sent to all users designated to receive Offsite Backup Over-Usage notifications once the storage limit is reached.

To designate a user to receive these notifications, log in to the Barracuda Backup web interface, click Account > Manage Users, and then click on the user name. In the right panel, in the Privileges section, turn on Billing Administration:

You have several options to address data plan overage, including:

  • Select less data to be backed up.
  • Modify your retention policies; modifying a retention policy timeline purges historic file revisions, freeing up storage space. For more information, refer to Understanding Retention Policies and Creating Effective Retention Policies.
  • Upgrade to a larger data plan. The larger plan is less expensive than paying for the current plan plus overage charges. Refer to the Barracuda Knowledgebase Solution #00003985 for details on sizing your data plan, or contact your Barracuda Networks Sales Associate for details.
  • Select data to be backed up locally only. This removes the data from the off site location, reducing offsite data plan usage.


Comments (0)